Domain Name Charter under .lu

The Domain name charter contains the guiding principles which are applied by RESTENA DNS-LU during the registration of the domain names. RESTENA DNS-LU has added a praamble in order to clarify certain points of the Charter. Present document has been adapted to reflect the most recent modification of the Charter applicable since January 1st 2011.

- Preamble of Domain Name Charter
- Domain name Charter

 

- Preamble of Domain Name Charter
RESTENA Foundation assumes the authority of first level .lu registration, which was allotted to them by the internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA) in March 1992. Foundation RESTENA proceeds to the administrative registration of the domain names under .lu and ensures the technical management of its operations.

The Domain Name Charter contains the guiding principles which are applied by RESTENA Foundation during the registration of the domain names. It has been set up on the experience gained by the RESTENA Foundation in this field. Its application is inspired of general principles which emerged in a international context and which have been adopted by a vast majority of registries in the world, and more particularly in the other European countries.

The Domain Name Charter is the result of a close collaboration between RESTENA Foundation and the private actors and public representatives of the internet community, and in particular of a working group set up by the government on March 16th 2001.

The members of this working group thus approved the principle according to which RESTENA Foundation does not carry out any verification as for the right to the registration of a domain name. It belongs to any person who considers that a domain name was registered in an abusive or illicit way, or any of his rights have been infringed by such a registration, to act against the holder of the name. It is necessary to insist on the distinction of the relations between the holder of a domain name and RESTENA Foundation on one side, as well as the relations between the holder and a third person calling upon the rights on the use of a name recorded as domain name. Thus RESTENA Foundation does not intervene in the event of litigation between the holder of a domain name and a third person.

The members of the working group estimated that it was important to recall to any person filing a request for registration of a domain name under .lu that their request has to comply with the Luxembourg legislation. It belongs to any person filing a request for registration of a domain name to carry out the preliminary checks to ensure itself of the legitimacy of its right to the use of a name, when this right is invoked for the registration of a domain name.

The Domain Name Charter is integral part of the contract which the holder subscribes of a domain name with RESTENA Foundation. The general conditions, which constitute the implementation of the principles retained in the Domain Name Charter, govern in a detailed way the administrative procedures of registration of a domain name. The rights and the obligations of the parties related to the contract of registration of a domain name .lu are thus clearly established by the provisions of the Domain Name Charter and the general conditions published on the internet site www.dns.lu.

The Domain Name Charter takes effect at the day indicated under point 7 of the Charter as published on the Website of service DNS-LU of RESTENA Foundation. A request for registration is subjected to the provisions of the Domain Name Charter as well as the general conditions which are in force the day of its introduction. Any retroactive effect is excluded. One can not consequently refer to the new provisions of the Domain Name Charter and the general conditions to ask for the attribution of a domain name for which the request had been rejected under the old provisions.

Document last modified: February 2010
© 2010 RESTENA Foundation

 

- Domain name Charter
1.    General Principles
1.1. All applications for new domain names are processed in chronological order of receipt by RESTENA Foundation and the domain names are allocated according to the principle "first-come, first-served".

1.2. RESTENA Foundation does not accept any responsibility for the use of any domain name on the register of .lu domain names. Acceptance of an application and registration of a domain name constitutes no endorsement by RESTENA Foundation that the applicant has a right to use the domain name in question, e.g. with regard to names of natural persons, legal entities, trade names, trademarks, etc. RESTENA Foundation is expressly exempted from any and all responsibility for the verification of rights to a name and does not check if a domain name may violate any third party's rights to that name.

1.3. Entities registering domain names are fully responsible for their right to said name. They have proceeded to every required verification concerning potential conflicts with notably trade marks, names of legal entities, etc. and hence certify to RESTENA Foundation that neither the registration of the domain name nor the manner in which the domain name is directly or indirectly used infringes the legal rights of a third party. Submission of a domain registration constitutes warranty to RESTENA Foundation that the entity has rights to use the submitted name. The applicant indemnifies the registry against any claim that the registration of the domain name or the manner in which the domain name is directly or indirectly used infringes the legal rights of any third party and indemnifies them against the reasonable costs and expenses, however they may arise, incurred in defending or dealing with such a claim.

1.4. RESTENA Foundation acknowledges that international guidelines have been or are currently published by international organization like for instance ICANN or CENTR (RFC 1591, Best Practice Guidelines, etc.) and retains the right to refer to these guidelines when defining its registration policy for second level domain names under .lu.

2.    Holder of the domain name
2.1. Domain names may be registered by legal entities and natural persons.

2.2. Any entity may become the holder of a domain name .lu, independent of its place of establishment.

2.3. With regard to the registry, the administrative contact appointed during the registration process is responsible for a domain name and is therefore required to be an authorized agent of the entity which is to become the holder of the domain name.

3.    Rules for domain names
Domain names must have a minimum length of 3 and up to 63 alphanumeric characters per name (a … z, 0 … 9). Only the hyphen (-) is allowed as special character. The hyphen cannot be used as first or last character. The minimum length of an IDN is determined by the number of non-ASCII characters. The maximum length of an IDN, however, is determined by the ACE-String for the domain name. The only non-ASCII characters accepted are those used in Luxembourgish, German and French languages. These characters are defined on the “List of non-ASCII characters of domain names under .lu”. As domain names are case insensitive, only lower case characters should be used.

4.    Reasons for rejecting domain name applications
RESTENA Foundation does not in principle proceed to any "a priori" verification of an application for a domain name.
Domain name applications which belong to one of the following categories are however rejected:
(a) domain names which are identical to an already registered domain name;
(b) domain names with a hyphen (-) on third and fourth position, except in case of IDN ACE-Strings;
(c) domain names clearly contrary to public order or offending common decency.

5.    Types of registered domains
Second level domain names under the top level domain .lu may be registered for active usage (domain delegation) or for inactive usage (reserved domain name).

6.    Applicable Charter
A request for registration is subject to the provisions of the Domain name charter in force the day the application is submitted. Any retroactive effect is excluded. One cannot refer to the new provisions of the Domain name charter to ask for the retroactive allocation of a domain name for which the request had been rejected under the old provisions.

7.    Coming into force date
The present version of the Domain name charter is coming into force as of January 1st 2011.

Document last modified: January 2011
© 2011 RESTENA Foundation

Quick-Links

Connect yourself to

my.lu logo

my.lu enables you to manage your .lu domain names online - anytime, anywhere

.lu Terms amendements as of June 11th 2013:

Restriction regarding the registration of certain domain names which have been temporarily blocked has been abolished

New provisions relating to the possibility to request a dispute entry for .lu domain names

dns.lu - aspects techniques et juridiques des noms de domaine

Charte de Nommage sous .lu

La Charte de Nommage contient les principes directeurs qui sont mis en œuvre par RESTENA DNS-LU lors de l'enregistrement des noms de domaine. RESTENA DNS-LU a ajouté un préambule en vue de la clarification de certaines dispositions contenues dans la Charte. Le présent texte a été modifié pour tenir compte des dernières adaptations de la Charte en date du 1er janvier 2011.

- Préambule à la Charte de Nommage
- Charte de Nommage

 

- Préambule à la Charte de Nommage
La Fondation RESTENA assume l'autorité du domaine de premier niveau .lu, qui lui a été attribuée par l'Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA) en mars 1992. En cette qualité, la Fondation RESTENA procède à l'enregistrement administratif des noms de domaine .lu et assure l'opération technique du service.

La Charte de Nommage contient les principes directeurs qui sont mis en œuvre par la Fondation RESTENA lors de l'enregistrement des noms de domaine. Elle a été élaborée sur base de l'expérience acquise par la Fondation RESTENA dans cette matière. Les principes généraux se sont dégagés dans un contexte international et ont été adoptés par une large majorité des organes d'enregistrement dans le monde, et plus particulièrement dans les autres pays européens.

La Charte de Nommage constitue le fruit d'une étroite collaboration entre la Fondation RESTENA et les acteurs privés et publics représentatifs de la communauté Internet nationale, notamment dans le cadre d'un groupe de travail instauré par le Gouvernement en date du 16 mars 2001.

Les membres de ce groupe de travail ont approuvé le principe selon lequel la Fondation RESTENA n'effectue aucun contrôle quant au droit à l'enregistrement d'un nom de domaine. Il appartient à toute personne qui considère qu'un nom de domaine a été enregistré de façon abusive ou illicite, ou qui s'estime lésée par un tel enregistrement, d'agir contre le titulaire du nom. Il y a lieu d'insister sur la distinction des relations entre le titulaire d'un nom de domaine et la Fondation RESTENA d'un côté, ainsi que la relation entre le titulaire et une tierce personne invoquant des droits sur l'utilisation d'un nom enregistré à titre de nom de domaine. Ainsi la Fondation RESTENA n'intervient pas en cas de litige entre le titulaire d'un nom de domaine et une tierce personne.

Les membres du groupe de travail ont estimé qu'il était important de rappeler à toute personne soumettant une demande d'enregistrement d'un nom de domaine .lu que leur demande devait se trouver en conformité avec la législation luxembourgeoise. Conformément aux principes édictés par la Charte de Nommage, il appartient à toute personne introduisant une demande d'enregistrement d'effectuer les vérifications préalables pour s'assurer de la légitimité de son droit à l'utilisation d'un nom, lorsque ce droit est invoqué pour l'enregistrement d'un nom de domaine.

La Charte de Nommage est partie intégrante du contrat que souscrit le titulaire d'un nom de domaine avec la Fondation RESTENA. Les Conditions d'enregistrement et de renouvellement, qui constituent la mise en oeuvre des principes retenus dans la Charte de Nommage, régissent de manière détaillée la procédure administrative d'enregistrement d'un nom de domaine.  Les droits et les obligations des parties au contrat d'enregistrement d'un nom de domaine .lu sont ainsi clairement établis par les dispositions de la Charte de Nommage et des Conditions d'enregistrement publiées sur le site www.dns.lu.

La Charte de Nommage prend effet au jour indiqué au point 7 de la Charte telle que publiée sur le site internet du service DNS-LU (www.dns.lu) de la Fondation RESTENA. Une demande d'enregistrement est soumise aux dispositions de la Charte de Nommage ainsi que des Conditions générales qui sont en vigueur le jour de son introduction. Tout effet rétroactif est exclu. On ne saurait dès lors se fonder sur les nouvelles dispositions de la Charte de Nommage et des Conditions générales pour demander l'attribution d'un nom de domaine pour lequel la demande avait été rejetée sous les anciennes dispositions.


Document modifié: Février 2010
© 2010 RESTENA DNS-LU

 

- Charte de Nommage
   1.     Principes généraux
1.1. Les demandes d'attribution sont traitées chronologiquement dans l'ordre de leur entrée auprès de la Fondation RESTENA et l'attribution se fait selon le principe « first-come, first-served».

1.2. La Fondation RESTENA n'assume aucune responsabilité par rapport au droit invoqué ou revendiqué par l'enregistré en ce qui concerne l'attribution et l'utilisation du nom de domaine. L'acceptation d'une demande d'enregistrement ne saurait constituer une reconnaissance d'un droit acquis pour l'enregistré d'utiliser le nom de domaine, notamment en ce qui concerne par exemple les noms des personnes physiques, les dénominations sociales, les noms de marque etc. La Fondation RESTENA n'effectue aucun contrôle ni aucune recherche en vue de déceler si le nom de domaine requis porte atteinte à des droits appartenant à des tiers.

1.3. Le demandeur qui enregistre un nom de domaine assume l'entière responsabilité quant à ses droits sur ce nom. Il a effectué toutes les vérifications nécessaires concernant des conflits éventuels avec notamment les noms de marque, les dénominations sociales, etc., et certifie ainsi à la Fondation RESTENA que ni l'enregistrement du nom de domaine ni la manière dont ce nom de domaine est utilisé de manière directe ou indirecte ne porte atteinte aux droits d'un tiers. En introduisant une demande d'enregistrement pour un nom de domaine, le demandeur garantit donc à la Fondation RESTENA qu'il est le titulaire actuel et régulier d'un droit sur l'utilisation de ce nom. En cas de litige, tous dommages-intérêts et/ou frais de procédure suite à l'enregistrement abusif du nom de domaine sont définitivement supportés par le demandeur qui tiendra la Fondation RESTENA quitte et indemne.

1.4. La Fondation RESTENA reconnaît que des lignes de conduite internationales ont été, ou sont en voie d'être élaborées par des organisations internationales comme par exemple ICANN ou CENTR (RFC 1591, Best Practice Guidelines, etc.) et se réserve le droit de se référer à ces lignes de conduite dans la définition de sa politique d'enregistrement de noms de domaine de second niveau .lu.

2.     Le titulaire du nom de domaine
2.1. Les noms de domaine peuvent être enregistrés au bénéfice de personnes physiques ou morales.

2.2. Toute personne physique ou morale peut requérir l'enregistrement d'un nom de domaine en .lu.

2.3. Vis-à-vis de l'instance d'enregistrement Fondation RESTENA, la personne morale ou physique est légalement représentée par son contact administratif désigné lors de l’enregistrement. Pour cette raison, le contact administratif doit soit représenter légalement le titulaire, soit disposer d'un pouvoir régulier l'habilitant à agir pour le compte de ce dernier.

3.     Réglementation concernant les caractéristiques du nom de domaine
Chaque nom de domaine doit comporter au minimum 3 et au maximum 63 caractères alphanumériques par nom (a…z, 0…9). Le seul caractère spécial admis est le trait d'union (-), sauf en position initiale et finale. Pour déterminer la longueur mininale d’un IDN il faut prendre en compte le nombre de caractères non-ASCII. Pour déterminer la longueur maximale d’un IDN il faut prendre en compter le nombre de caractères du ACE-String. Les seuls caractères non-ASCII acceptés sont ceux utilisés dans les langues luxembourgeoise, allemande et française. Ces caractères sont définis par la "Liste des caractères non-ASCII pour les noms de domaine sous .lu". Il est recommandé de n'utiliser que des minuscules, parce que le système DNS ne fait pas de différence entre les caractères minuscules et majuscules.

4.     Demandes d'enregistrement rejetées
La Fondation RESTENA n'effectue en principe aucun contrôle a priori quant à l'admissibilité d'un nom de domaine. Sont seuls exclus les noms de domaine qui font partie de l'une ou plusieurs des catégories suivantes:
(a) noms de domaine identiques à un nom de domaine déjà enregistré;
(b) noms avec "-" sur la troisième et quatrième position, sauf pour les ACE-String en cas d’IDN;
(c) noms de domaine manifestement contraires à l'ordre public ou aux bonnes mœurs.

5.     Types d'enregistrement
Le nom de domaine peut être attribué pour une utilisation active du nom de domaine, à savoir une utilisation sur internet, ou une utilisation passive qui consiste dans la seule réservation du nom de domaine.

6.    Stipulations générales
Une demande d'enregistrement est soumise aux dispositions de la Charte de Nommage qui sont en vigueur le jour de son introduction. Tout effet rétroactif est exclu. On ne saurait dès lors se fonder sur les nouvelles dispositions de la Charte de Nommage pour demander l'attribution rétroactive d'un nom de domaine pour lequel la demande avait été rejetée sous les anciennes dispositions.

7.    Entrée en vigueur
La présente version de la Charte de Nommage entre en vigueur le 1er janvier 2011.

Document modifié: Janvier 2011
© 2011 RESTENA DNS-LU

Quick-Links

Connectez vous à

logo my.lu

my.lu vous permet de gérer vos noms de domaine .lu en ligne - n'importe quand, n'importe où

Changement d’adresse

Nous vous informons que nous avons emménagé dans de nouveaux locaux situés sur le site de la Cité de la Recherche et de l'Innovation à l’adresse suivante:

Fondation RESTENA
Maison du Savoir
2, avenue de l’Université
L-4365 Esch-sur-Alzette

Nos coordonnées téléphoniques et de fax n'ont pas changé.

dns.lu - aspects techniques et juridiques des noms de domaine