Schedule

In order to provide a fair approach to the registration of domain names with 1 and 2 characters, the Restena Foundation, in line with some its European counterparts, is rolling out the opening of these domain names in three phases, two governed by special provisions and one relying on general terms. 

Sunrise phase

The Sunrise phase is devoted to holders of registered trademarks valid for Luxembourg, as well as to corporations and companies reflecting the company name or company description registered with the Luxembourg Trade and Companies' Register. This first registration phase covers the period from 31 August to 30 October 2020 and is broken down as follows:

  • From Monday 31 August to Friday 2 October 2020: filing and assessment of applications submitted by the interested parties. 
  • Friday 16 October 2020: finalisation of the analysis of the applications and registration by the Restena Foundation.
  • From Monday 19 October to Friday 30 October 2020: private sale in the event of multiple applications for a single domain name and finalisation of sunrise applications.

Landrush phase

At the end of the Sunrise phase, the remaining domain names are made available during a second registration period on the principle of registering to the highest bidder. This phase, referred to as Landrush, is aiming at offering a fair chance to obtain a coveted domain name and is open to all individuals and legal entities by means of an independent tendering procedure.

  • Starting on 19 October 2020: publication of a purchase/sale platform dedicated to public sale with the launch of on-line registrations by interested parties.
  • From Monday 2 November to Monday 30 November 2020: public sale of domain names with 1 and 2 characters on the dedicated platform.
  • From Tuesday 1 December to Monday 14 December 2020: conclusion of the final open processes and finalisation of the tenders.

General availability phase

The third and final phase of the procedure for opening domain names with 1 and 2 characters corresponds to the release in the general registration process of domain names not allocated in the 2 preceding phases. 

Starting on Tuesday 15 December 2020, all registrars accredited for registration and technical management of .lu domain names will be able to market .lu domain names with 1 or 2 characters to their clients under their normal terms and conditions.

Quick-Links

Connect yourself to

my.lu logo

my.lu enables you to manage your .lu domain names online - anytime, anywhere

__.lu logo

Read about progressive opening of 1 and 2-character domain names

dns.lu - aspects techniques et juridiques des noms de domaine

Calendrier

Afin que la mise à disposition des plus de 2.800 nouvelles possibilités d’enregistrement des noms de domaine en 1 et 2 caractères puisse se faire de manière équitable, la Fondation Restena, dans la lignée de certains de ses confrères européens, déploie l’ouverture de l’enregistrement de ces noms de domaine en 3 phases, dont deux régies par des règles particulières et une mise à disposition générale.

Phase Sunrise

La phase Sunrise est dédiée aux détenteurs de marques enregistrées validées pour le Luxembourg ainsi qu’aux entreprises et sociétés reflétant la raison sociale ou la dénomination sociale enregistrée au registre du commerce et des sociétés du Luxembourg. Cette première phase d'enregistrement s’étend sur une période allant du 31 août au 30 octobre 2020 et se découpe de la manière suivante :

  • Du lundi 31 août au vendredi 2 octobre 2020 : dépôt et évaluation des dossiers des intéressés.
  • Vendredi 16 octobre 2020 : clôture de l’analyse des dossiers et attribution des demandes par la Fondation Restena.
  • Du lundi 19 octobre au vendredi 30 octobre 2020 : organisation d’une vente privée en cas de demandes multiples pour un même nom de domaine et finalisation des dossiers.

Phase Landrush

Au terme de la phase Sunrise, les noms de domaine restants sont attribués lors d’une seconde période d'enregistrement sur le principe de la mise en vente en vue de l’enregistrement par le plus offrant. Destinée à réguler la mise à disposition des noms de domaine, cette phase dénommée Landrush est ouverte à toutes les personnes physiques et morales par le biais d'une procédure d'appel d'offres en ligne indépendante.

  • Dès le 19 octobre 2020 : publication d’une plateforme d’achat/vente dédiée à la vente publique et lancement des inscriptions en ligne par les personnes intéressées.
  • Du lundi 2 novembre au lundi 30 novembre 2020 : vente publique des noms de domaine en 1 et 2 caractères sur la plateforme d’achat/vente dédiée.
  • Du mardi 1er décembre au lundi 14 décembre 2020 : clôture des dernières enchères ouvertes et finalisation administrative des offres.

Phase "General availability"

La troisième et dernière phase de la procédure d’ouverture des noms de domaine en 1 et 2 caractères correspond à la mise à disposition générale des noms de domaine non attribués dans les 2 précédentes phases.

Dès le mardi 15 décembre 2020, tous les bureaux d’enregistrement accrédités pour l’enregistrement et la gestion technique des noms de domaine sous .lu pourront commercialiser les noms de domaine en .lu à 1 ou 2 caractères auprès de leurs clients dans leurs conditions de vente habituelles.

C’est également à cette date que les noms de domaine en .lu à 1 ou 2 caractères seront consultables dans la base de données WHOIS.

Quick-Links

Connectez vous à

logo my.lu

my.lu vous permet de gérer vos noms de domaine .lu en ligne - n'importe quand, n'importe où

logo __.lu

Lire plus au sujet de l'ouverture progressive de l’enregistrement des noms de domaine en 1 et 2 caractères

dns.lu - aspects techniques et juridiques des noms de domaine