Concept

Although for the past 20 years, it has been possible only to register domain names with at least 3 characters under the .lu extension, in 2020 this lacuna is becoming ancient history. 

Suspension "along the way"

The country code top-level domain (ccTLD) registry for .lu, the DNS-LU service provided by the Restena Foundation, is responsible implementing the policy for allocating and for registering and managing .lu domain names. The Restena Foundation also manages the DNS (Domain Name System) infrastructure along with all the technical aspects concerning domain name registration, including IT systems and the related procedures. As such, it guarantees the availability of domain names under .lu from any point on the internet. Although the domain name system dates back to 1992 and to the early days of the Internet, many countries, including Luxembourg, have suspended the registration of domain names with 1 and 2 characters.

An increasing number of requests from the field

As the years have passed, this limitation, based on software faults and security considerations, has become obsolete and the need and recurring demand from corporations, institutions and individuals in favour of the registration of .lu domain names with 1 or 2 characters has become increasingly urgent.

This is why the Restena Foundation has brought together all the elements to enable once again the registration of a .lu domain name with 1 or 2 characters to each interested person. This paves the way for no fewer than 2,800 new possible registrations.

Quick-Links

Connect yourself to

my.lu logo

my.lu enables you to manage your .lu domain names online - anytime, anywhere

__.lu logo

Read about progressive opening of 1 and 2-character domain names

dns.lu - aspects techniques et juridiques des noms de domaine

Concept

Alors que depuis 20 ans, il était uniquement possible d’enregistrer des noms de domaine de minimum 3 caractères sous l’extension .lu, en 2020, cette indisponibilité devient une histoire ancienne.

Une suspension « en cours de route »

Registre du domaine national de premier niveau .lu via son service DNS-LU, la Fondation Restena est responsable de la mise en place de la politique d’attribution et de la gestion des noms de domaine en .lu. La Fondation Restena gère également l’infrastructure DNS (Domain Name System) et a notamment comme mission la gestion et l'organisation de tous les aspects techniques concernant l'enregistrement des noms de domaine, ainsi que l'élaboration des systèmes et des procédures y relatifs. À ce titre, elle garantit l'accessibilité des noms de domaine sous .lu depuis tout point de l'internet. Alors que le système de noms de domaine a trouvé naissance en 1992 avec l’avènement d’Internet, de nombreux pays, dont le Luxembourg, ont suspendu l’enregistrement des noms de domaine en 1 et 2 caractères.

Une demande provenant du terrain

Les années passant, cette limitation fondée sur des défauts logiciels et des considérations de sécurité est devenue obsolète et le besoin et la demande récurrente des entreprises, institutions et particuliers en faveur de l’enregistrement de noms de domaine en .lu à 1 ou 2 caractères répondant à leurs activités se sont faits de plus en plus pressants.

C’est ainsi que la Fondation Restena a rassemblé tous les éléments pour permettre à nouveau, à tout à chacun, d’enregistrer un nom de domaine en .lu à 1 ou 2 caractères. Désormais, la voie est ouverte à pas moins de 2.800 nouvelles possibilités d’enregistrement.

Quick-Links

Connectez vous à

logo my.lu

my.lu vous permet de gérer vos noms de domaine .lu en ligne - n'importe quand, n'importe où

logo __.lu

Lire plus au sujet de l'ouverture progressive de l’enregistrement des noms de domaine en 1 et 2 caractères

dns.lu - aspects techniques et juridiques des noms de domaine