Activities

National activity

The RESTENA Foundation coordinates national online resources for the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. The RESTENA DNS-LU service is responsible for management of .lu domain names. DNS-LU is responsible for:

  • guaranteeing the accessibility of .lu domain names from any internet point;
  • national coordination of the registration policy;
  • producing registration systems and procedures, rules and instructions;
  • managing and organising all technical aspects of registration;
  • signing agreements with registrars;
  • representing .lu in international workgroups and organisations;
  • keeping track of technological developments in the domain names field.


DNS-LU is not:

  • a legal authority to be involved in disputes or claims associated with domain names;
  • a legislator in internet law;
  • an internet service provider;
  • a body to be consulted in the choice of registrar or internet service provider.


International relations
It should be noted that there are a growing number of international meetings involving different domain name registration bodies in Europe. Therefore, DNS-LU is increasingly involved in international relations.

DNS-LU is a founding member of the Council of European National Top Level Domain Registries (CENTR - www.centr.org), the aim of which is to represent the interests of domain name authorities in Europe. The objective is to encourage cooperation between national domain name authorities and to get them involved in actions relating to matters of common interest.

As a result of its mission, DNS-LU is involved in developments and innovations in the internet field through its contribution to organisations such as the International Engineering Task Force (IETF - www.ietf.org) and Réseaux IP Européens (RIPE - www.ripe.net). These workgroups give parties involved in technical aspects of the internet the opportunity to share their experiences within the context of the introduction of new services and standards. Beside DNS-LU is a member of the Country Code Naming Supporting Organisation (ccNSO - ccnso.icann.org) which is the policy development body for a range of global ccTLD issues within the ICANN structure. It is responsible for developing and recommending to the Board global policies relating to country-code top-level domains.

In addition, the RESTENA network belongs to the global research community communication infrastructure and makes this accessible nationally to all education and research partners. The RESTENA Foundation has been involved in all the major international research network development projects since 1991. It represents Luxembourg in the Trans-European Research and Education Networking Association (TERENA - www.terena.org), is a shareholder in Delivery of Advanced Network Technology to Europe (DANTE - www.dante.net) and is a member of the National Research and Educational Network Policy Committee (NREN-PC - www.geant.net).

Quick-Links

Connect yourself to

my.lu logo

my.lu enables you to manage your .lu domain names online - anytime, anywhere

Office relocation

Please be advised that our offices have moved to following address:

Fondation RESTENA
Maison du Savoir
2, avenue de l’Université
L-4365 Esch-sur-Alzette

Our phone and facsimile numbers remained unchanged.

dns.lu - aspects techniques et juridiques des noms de domaine

Activités

Les activités au niveau national
La Fondation RESTENA assure la coordination des ressources Internet au niveau national du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg. C’est le service DNS-LU de la Fondation RESTENA qui est en charge de la gestion des noms de domaine sous .lu.
Les missions de DNS-LU sont les suivantes:

  • la garantie de l'accessibilité des noms de domaine sous .lu depuis tout point de l'internet ;
  • l'élaboration des systèmes et des procédures d'enregistrement ainsi que des règles et prescriptions ;
  • la gestion et l'organisation de tous les aspects techniques concernant l'enregistrement ;
  • la conclusion d’accords avec les registrars (agents d’enregistrement) ;
  • la coordination de l'enregistrement des noms de domaine au niveau national ;
  • la représentation du .lu dans les groupes de travail et organisations internationales ;
  • le suivi de l'évolution de la technologie dans le cadre des noms de domaine.


Ce que DNS-LU n'est pas :

  • une autorité juridique pouvant être saisie pour des litiges ou réclamations liés aux noms de domaine ;
  • un législateur en matière de droit sur internet ;
  • un prestataire de services internet ;
  • un conseiller sur le choix d'un registrar ou d'un fournisseur de services internet.


Les relations internationales
Il est à noter le nombre croissant de rencontres internationales impliquant notamment les différents organismes d'enregistrement de noms de domaine en Europe. De ce fait DNS-LU s'implique de plus en plus dans le concert des relations internationales.


DNS-LU est membre fondateur de l'organisation Council of European National Top Level Domain Registries (CENTR - www.centr.org) dont le but est de représenter les intérêts des autorités de nommage en Europe. L’objectif en est de favoriser la coopération entre les autorités de nommage nationales et de les engager dans des actions portant sur des affaires d’intérêt commun.


De par sa mission, DNS-LU participe aux évolutions et innovations dans le domaine de l'Internet en contribuant à des organismes comme l’International Engineering Task Force (IETF - www.ietf.org) et les Réseaux IP Européens (RIPE - www.ripe.net). Ces groupes de travail collaboratifs permettent aux acteurs techniques de l'Internet d'échanger leurs expériences dans le cadre de l'introduction de nouveaux services et normes. Par ailleurs DNS-LU est membre de la Country Code Naming Supporting Organisation (ccNSO - ccnso.icann.org) qui, au sein de l'ICANN, est en charge de questions intéressant les registres de code pays (ccTLD). La ccNSO formule ainsi des recommandations liées à la gestion des noms de domaine des registres pays à l'adresse du Conseil d'administration de l'ICANN.


Par ailleurs, le réseau RESTENA fait partie intégrante de l'infrastructure mondiale de communication de la communauté de la recherche et rend celle-ci accessible sur le plan national à l'ensemble des partenaires de l'éducation et de la recherche. La Fondation RESTENA participe à tous les grands projets de développement de réseaux de recherche internationaux depuis 1991. Elle représente le Luxembourg dans l’association Trans-European Research and Education Networking Association (TERENA - www.terena.org), est actionnaire de Delivery of Advanced Network Technology to Europe (DANTE - www.dante.net) et est membre du National Research and Educational Network Policy Comitee (NREN-PC - www.geant.net).