Privacy Notice

You may download a .pdf copy of the Privacy Notice.

Introduction

The RESTENA Foundation coordinates national online resources for the Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg. The RESTENA DNS-LU service, also known as DNS-LU, is responsible for the management of .lu domain names and is in charge of the Registry of the country code top level domain .lu.

DNS-LU processes personal data that is subjected to Luxembourg national data protection and the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) (EU) 2016/679 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 27 April 2016.

RESTENA Foundation is committed to ensure that Luxembourg and EU data protection provisions are safeguarded.

This Privacy Notice explains how DNS-LU collects, uses, transmits and discloses (hereinafter referred to together as “processes”) domain name requestors’ and holders’ personal data, including administrative, and/or technical and/or billing contacts (“involved persons”), and the means by which this is done.

1.   Data Controller

The Data Controller of the top level domain .lu is:

Name            Fondation RESTENA

Address        2, avenue de l’Université
                   4365 Esch-sur-Alzette

                   Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
Tel.              +352 42 44 09 1

Fax              +352 42 34 73
E-mail           domreg@dns.lu

In its capacity as Data Controller RESTENA Foundation is committed to respect the rules of personal data protection.

2.   Data Protection Officer

RESTENA Data Protection Officer

Tel.              +352 42 44 09 1
Fax              +352 42 34 73
E-mail           domregs@dns.lu

3.   The Purpose and Legal Basis for Data Processing

  • Performance of an agreement

DNS-LU is processing your data in order to enter into an agreement to register and manage a domain name under the top-level domain .lu and to ensure the due and proper performance of the underlying contractual provisions.
Performance of an agreement may only be performed while taking into account and processing data of parties involved.

Purpose of the processing pursuant to point (b) of the Article 6(1) of the General Data Protection Regulation.

  • Legal obligation

DNS-LU can process your data if it is necessary to comply with legal obligations and/or within the framework of legal proceedings to which DNS-LU might be subject to, e.g., if DNS-LU receives a notification to disclose or transmit your personal data to jurisdictional or governmental authorities.

Purpose of the processing pursuant to point (c) of the Article 6(1) of the General Data Protection Regulation.

  • Legitimate interests

DNS-LU can process your data where it is strictly necessary for the purpose of safeguarding the legitimate interests pursued by DNS-LU or by a third party for preventing fraud, cyber-attacks, network & information security reasons and for ensuring your data integrity as domain holder in relation with domain name registration, provided that your interests or fundamental rights and freedoms are not overriding, taking into consideration the reasonable expectations based on your relationship with the data controller.

Purpose of the processing pursuant to point (f) of the Article 6(1) of the General Data Protection Regulation.

4.   Categories of Recipients of Personal Data

4.1.    DNS-LU has the right to disclose personal data:

4.1.1  if you request such information to be published and DNS-LU can identify the requestor.

4.1.2  if, in cases provided by law, a national jurisdictional, governmental or other authority empowered for this purpose requests personal data and the request is made pursuant to enactments of the Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg.

4.1.3  if, in case an interested party provides DNS-LU in writing with information of a current or potential problem arising in connection with the use and/or proper functionning of the Internet and the Domain Name System (DNS) in order to deal with and/or to look up the status of a domain name.

 4.2.    Within the performance of its contractual obligations, as domain name holder you authorize DNS-LU to transmit Personal Data to employees, agents or other third party service provider within or outside your country in order to provide services and for the purposes indicated above. Employees, agents and other third party service providers which have access to Personal Data are required by DNS-LU to ensure compliance with all applicable data protection provisions. Any person authorized by DNS-LU to access Personal Data as defined in this Privacy Notice will be made aware of the data protection implications.

4.3     In accordance with the request of the domain name holder and concerned persons, DNS-LU has specifically the right to disclose personal data:
- to the Registrar of the domain name holder’s choice, and
- to the identified concerned persons.

4.4.    You have the right to request from DNS-LU information about recipients of your personal data, unless such information cannot be disclosed pursuant to legal provisions of the Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg.

4.5.    You have the right to be informed on whether or not your personal data are transferred to a third country or to an international organisation. In this context, you are entitled to be informed of the appropriate safeguards regarding the transfer pursuant to Article 46 of the GDPR.

5.   Data security, access to Personal Data, Rectification and Data portability

5.1.    DNS-LU protects Personal Data with appropriate physical, electronic and process-related security measures, such as firewalls, personal passwords, encoding and authentication technologies.

5.2.    You can access your data and rectify them via your regular Registrar and/or in case DNS-LU acts as your Registrar via DNS-LU website dns.lu, at DNS-LU’s offices, or by sending your request to our postal address:

2, avenue de l’Université,
4365 Esch-sur-Alzette,
Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg.

5.3.    You have the right to receive your data processed by DNS-LU in a machine-readable format.

6.   Data Update, right to Object and Restriction of Processing

6.1.    You are responsible for providing valid, actual and complete data at the moment of concluding the agreement, as well as during the entire period of the performance of the agreement. Valid, effective and complete data should be provided at any time to your Registrar.

6.2.    In case of any changes, it is your right and under your responsibility to update your data without undue delay by informing your Registrar.

6.3.    If DNS-LU discovers that your data are false, obsolete or incomplete, you will receive a request to correct the data. If no answer is received or the data are not updated within reasonable delay, and in any case within 30 days, DNS-LU has the right to terminate the domain name management agreement as laid out in Terms and Conditions.

6.4.    If a domain name holder objects to the processing of personal data, DNS-LU will terminate the Agreement, as collecting personal data and its processing are necessary for the conclusion and performance of the domain name registration and management agreement.

6.5.    Access to data is restricted.
A request to forward any message to the holder as private person (including involved persons) must be filed in writing with DNS-LU. Such a request must be duly motivated and is subject to DNS-LU’s approval. DNS-LU will consecutively pass on the request to the holder without establishing any direct contact with him.

7.   Identification of authorized persons

7.1.    In the interest of privacy and data protection, DNS-LU will ensure your identity (in your function as requestor) before responding to any requests for transmission of messages to the holder (including involved persons) and reserves the right to request a copy of an identity document.

7.2.    DNS-LU may refuse the request if it can not identify you with certainty or if it considers the request excessive or unfounded. You (as requestor) will be informed of the reasons for the refusal within one month from the receipt of the request. DNS-LU may also require the payment of reasonable fees in the case of unfounded or excessive requests, in particular because of their repetitive nature.

8.   Erasure of Personal Data and Data Storage Limitations

8.1.     Within 30 (thirty) days after the expiry or termination of the domain name management agreement, DNS-LU shall destroy or remove from the computer systems and files all personal data in the possession or under the control of DNS-LU as of the date of expiry or termination, subject to:

8.2.     Personal Data that DNS-LU is legally required to keep after the termination or expiry of the domain name management agreement.

8.3.     In case of Limitation the data can no longer be the subject of any processing.

9.   Complaint Procedure

You have the right to file a complaint with the national supervisory authority (National Commission for Data Protection - CNPD) regarding a possible breach of personal data protection.

10. Change of Policy

DNS-LU reserves the right to modify this Privacy policy. DNS-LU shall notify the public of the new provisions at least 30 days before entry into force thereof, particularly through publication on its website dns.lu.

Note de Confidentialité

Vous pouvez télécharger la Note de Confidentialité au format .pdf.

Introduction

La Fondation RESTENA assure la coordination des ressources internet au niveau du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg. Le service DNS-LU de la Fondation RESTENA est en charge de la gestion des noms de domaine sous .lu et est le responsable du système central des noms de domaine enregistrés sous le premier niveau .lu.

DNS-LU traite à ce titre des données personnelles soumises à la législation nationale sur la protection des données et au Règlement Général sur la Protection des Données (RGPD) (UE) 2016/679 du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 27 avril 2016.

La Fondation RESTENA s'engage à garantir le respect les dispositions en matière de protection des données personnelles du Luxembourg et de l'UE.

La présente Note de confidentialité décrit la manière dont DNS-LU collecte, utilise, transmet et diffuse («traite») les données personnelles des requérants et titulaires de noms de domaine sous .lu, y compris, les contacts administratifs, et/ou techniques et/ou de facturation («personnes concernées») ainsi que les moyens mises en œuvre à cet effet.

1.       Responsable du traitement des données

Le Responsable du traitement des données du domaine de premier niveau .lu est:

Nom             Fondation RESTENA

Adresse         2, avenue de l’Université
                   4365 Esch-sur-Alzette
                   Grand-Duché de Luxembourg
Tél.              +352 42 44 09 1
Fax              +352 42 34 73
E-mail           domreg@dns.lu

En sa qualité de Responsable du traitement des données la Fondation RESTENA souscrit au respect des règles de protection des données personnelles.

2.   Délégué à la Protection des données personnelles

RESTENA Délégué à la Protection des données

Tél.              +352 42 44 09 1
Fax               +352 42 34 73
E-mail           domregs@dns.lu

3.   Objet et base juridique du traitement des données

  • Exécution d’un contrat

DNS-LU traite vos données en vue de l’exécution d’un contrat d’enregistrement et de gestion de nom de domaine sous le domaine de premier niveau .lu et pour assurer la bonne exécution des dispositions contractuelles sous-jacentes.
L'exécution d'un contrat ne peut être réalisée que lors de la prise en compte et du traitement des données des personnes impliquées.

Finalité du traitement conformément à l'article 6, paragraphe 1, point b), du règlement général sur la protection des données.

  • Obligations légales

DNS-LU peut traiter vos données s'il est nécessaire de se conformer à des obligations légales et / ou dans le cadre de procédures judiciaires auxquelles DNS-LU pourrait être soumis, par exemple, si DNS-LU reçoit une notification en vue de la transmission ou de la divulgation de vos données personnelles à des autorités juridictionnelles ou gouvernementales.

Finalité du traitement conformément à l'article 6, paragraphe 1, point c), du règlement général sur la protection des données.

  • Intérêts légitimes

DNS-LU peut traiter vos données lorsque cela est strictement nécessaire pour protéger les intérêts légitimes de DNS-LU ou d'un tiers pour prévenir la fraude, les cyber-attaques, la sécurité des réseaux d'information et pour garantir l'intégrité de vos données en relation avec l'enregistrement de noms de domaine, à moins que vos intérêts ou vos libertés et droits fondamentaux ne prévalent, compte tenu des attentes raisonnables fondées sur votre relation avec le responsable du traitement.

Finalité du traitement conformément à l'article 6, paragraphe 1, point f), du règlement général sur la protection des données.

 4.   Catégories de destinataires des données personnelles

4.1.    DNS-LU est autorisé à divulguer les données personnelles:

4.1.1  si la personne concernée demande que ses informations soient publiées et que DNS-LU puisse identifier le demandeur

4.1.2  dans la mesure où la divulgation est exigée par la loi, une instance publique, un tribunal ou une autre instance habilitée à cet effet et la demande est formulée conformément à la législation du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg

4.1.3  si des parties intéressées soumettent par écrit à DNS-LU une information relative à l'adressage et à la configuration en vue de résoudre des problèmes actuels ou potentiels concernant l'utilisation et/ou le bon fonctionnement d’Internet respectivement du Domain Name System (DNS), et/ou encore de vérifier le statut d’un nom de domaine.

4.2.    Dans le cadre de l’exécution de ses obligations contractuelles envers le titulaire de nom de domaine et en vue de fournir les services et pour les finalités décrits ci-avant, le titulaire autorise DNS-LU à transmettre les données personnelles à ses collaborateurs, mandataires ou tout autre prestataire à l’intérieur comme à l’extérieur du pays de résidence du titulaire. Les collaborateurs, mandataires ou tout autre prestataire ayant accès aux données personnelles sont tenus par DNS-LU de garantir le respect de toutes les dispositions applicables en matière de protection des données. Les personnes auxquelles DNS-LU donne accès aux données personnelles au sens de la présente déclaration sont formées à la protection des données.

4.3.    conformément à la demande du titulaire et des personnes concernées en relation avec un nom de domaine, DNS-LU est autorisé à divulguer les données personnelles
- à un registrar du choix du titulaire, et
- aux personnes concernées clairement identifiées.

4.4.    En tant que personne concernée, vous avez le droit de demander à DNS-LU des informations quant aux destinataires de vos données personnelles, à moins que ces informations ne puissent être divulguées conformément aux dispositions légales du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg.

4.5.    Vous avez le droit d'être informé du transfert ou non de vos données personnelles vers un pays tiers ou vers une organisation internationale. Dans ce contexte, vous avez le droit d'être informé des garanties appropriées concernant le transfert conformément à l'article 46 du RGPD.

5.   Sécurité, accès aux Données Personnelles, Rectification et le droit à la Portabilité

5.1.    DNS-LU a mis en place des dispositifs de sécurité physiques, électroniques et administratifs adaptés afin de protéger les données personnelles, parmi lesquels des pare-feu, des mots de passe personnels ainsi que des systèmes d’authentification.

5.2.    Vous avez le droit d’accéder à vos données et de les corriger via votre agent d’enregistrement habituel, et/ou au cas DNS-LU agit en tant d’agent d’enregistrement, via le site web dns.lu, dans les locaux de DNS-LU, ou bien en adressant votre requête à l’adresse postale suivante:

2, avenue de l’Université,
4365 Esch-sur-Alzette,
Grand-Duché de Luxembourg.

5.3.    Vous avez le droit de récupérer vos données traitées par DNS-LU dans un format structuré et couramment utilisé et lisible par machine.

6.   Mise à jour de vos Données personnelles, droit d’Opposition et Restriction du traitement

6.1.    Vous avez la responsabilité de fournir des données valides, réelles et complètes au moment de la conclusion du contrat, ainsi que pendant toute la durée de l'exécution de ce dernier. Des données valides, effectives et complètes doivent être fournies à tout moment à votre registrar.

6.2.    En cas de modification de vos données personnelles, vous êtes responsable de la mise à jour sans délai auprès de votre registrar.

6.3.    Si DNS-LU découvre que vos données sont fausses, obsolètes ou incomplètes, vous recevrez une demande pour corriger les données. Si aucune réponse n'est reçue ou si les données ne sont pas mises à jour dans un délai raisonnable, et dans tous les cas dans les 30 jours, DNS-LU se réserve le droit de procéder à l'annulation de l'enregistrement du nom de domaine conformément aux Conditions générales en vigueur.

6.4.    Si un titulaire de nom de domaine s'oppose au traitement des données personnelles, DNS-LU mettra fin à la relation contractuelle, car la collecte de ces données et son traitement sont nécessaires pour la conclusion et l'exécution du contrat d’enregistrement et de gestion d’un nom de domaine.

6.5.    L’accès aux données personnelles est restreint.
Toute requête de transmission de messages au titulaire en sa qualité de personne physique (respectivement aux personnes concernées), est à adresser par écrit à DNS-LU en mentionnant la raison d’une telle requête. DNS-LU jugera de la légitimité de la demande et décidera sur cette base de procéder ou non au transfert des messages du requérant au titulaire sans entrer en contact directe avec ce dernier.

7.       Mesures d’Identification

7.1.    Dans un souci de confidentialité et de protection des données, DNS-LU s’assurera de votre identité avant de répondre à toute demande de transmission de message au titulaire (y compris les personnes concernées) et se réserve le droit de demander une copie d’un document certifiant l’identité du requérant.

7.2.    DNS-LU pourra refuser la demande si elle est dans l’impossibilité de vous identifier de manière certaine ou si elle juge la demande excessive ou infondée. Vous serez informé des motifs du refus dans un délai d’un mois à compter de la réception de la demande. DNS-LU peut également exiger le paiement de frais raisonnables en cas de demandes infondées ou excessives, notamment en raison de leur caractère répétitif.

8.   Droit à l’Oubli et à la Limitation

8.1.    Dans les trente (30) jours suivant l'expiration ou la résiliation du contrat d’enregistrement et de gestion d’un nom de domaine, DNS-LU détruira ou supprimera de ses systèmes informatiques et de ses fichiers toutes les données personnelles en sa possession ou sous son contrôle à la date d’expiration ou de résiliation, exception faite des

8.2.    données personnelles que DNS-LU est légalement tenu de conserver après la résiliation ou l'expiration du contrat d’enregistrement et de gestion du nom de domaine.

8.3.     En cas de Limitation les données ne peuvent plus faire l’objet d’un quelconque traitement.

9.   Réclamations

En cas de violation de la protection de vos données personnelles, vous pouvez adresser votre réclamation directement à l’autorité en charge du respect et du contrôle de la légalité de l'utilisation des données personnelles (Commission Nationale pour la Protection des données - CNPD).

10. Modification de la Politique de Confidentialité

DNS-LU se réserve le droit de modifier les dispositions de la présente Note de Confidentialité. DNS-LU informera le public au moins 30 jours avant l’entrée en vigueur des nouvelles stipulations, notamment par publication sur son site dn