Registration

To register a domain name with the .LU extension, please fill in the Registration form and the appendix and return it duly completed and signed to DNS-LU by fax or post.

The registration form and the appendix shall form the registration contract. If applicable, you should include a Power of attorney.

For further information, please refer to the section How to complete the registration form.

The registration form is also intended for use by the new domain name holder in the Event of a domain name being traded  with a different entity.

Before completing the form for a new registration, you can Check if the name you want to register is still available. Please also read the section How to complete the registration form to ensure you fill out the form correctly and to avoid any delay in registering your name.

Please note: the registration form and the appendix must be signed by the administrative contact.

Information for completing the registration form

We recommend that you read this document before completing the domain name registration form. Any incomplete or incorrect forms, or any forms not accompanied by a duly signed appendix, will be rejected, delaying registration of your domain name. For further information relating to domain name registration, please email domreg@dns.lu.
N.B.: the registration form and the appendix must be signed by the administrative contact, i.e. by a legal representative of the applicant.

1. DOMAIN NAME. Names must be between 3 and 63 characters long (excluding .lu).  A domain name may be made up solely of numbers. The dash (-) is the only special character that can be used. It may only be used in combination with two characters and may not be the first or last character of a domain name. Nor may the dash be in the third or fourth positions, except for ACE-String in case of IDN. Non-ASCII caracters permitted for IDNs are those used in Luxembourgish, French and German languages. Domain names are only made up of lower case letters. There may only be one domain name per application. Below are some examples of correct domain names: restena.lu, dns.lu, 876.lu, etc.

2. TYPE OF APPLICATION. 
DNS-LU uses the same form for both registering a new domain name and modifying an existing domain name.

- To register a new domain name, check box 2a.

2a. ( ) Register a new domain name

- To modify a domain name, check box 2b and give the reason for the modification (e.g. change of technical contact)

- 2b. ( ) Modify an existing domain name

2b1. Reason: it may be quicker to modify a domain name than register a new one as the domain name has already been registered and confirmed.

3. TYPE OF APPLICANT.  According to the General Terms and Conditions of .ludomain name registration, both legal entities and natural persons are permitted to register a domain name.

Please check the appropriate box:

3a. ( ) Organisation

3b. ( ) Private individual

4. NAME AND ADDRESS. (organisations and private individuals based outside Luxembourg) For an organisation: company name and full address. The legal status of the company must be provided (public limited company, limited liability company, etc.).  For a private individual residing outside Luxembourg: full name and full address outside Luxembourg.

5. ADMINISTRATIVE CONTACT.  The administrative contact must be a legal representative (authorised signatory) of the organisation or the private individual if the latter is based outside Luxembourg (point 4).  The administrative contact may be the same as the technical contact or the billing contact. The administrative contact is the point of contact for any administrative or legal questions relating to registration of a domain name.  Since February 1st 2010, the administrative contact is no longer required to be based in Luxembourg.  In the case of a legal entity, the address of the administrative contact must be the same as the address of the organisation. If, due to the company structure, this requirement cannot be met, DNS-LU shall require power of attorney. Only our Standard form may be used.  If the administrative contact is acting on behalf of a private individual residing outside Luxembourg, the administrative contact must also hold power of attorney.

The administrative contact must have a valid email address.

6. TECHNICAL CONTACT. The technical contact is the person responsible for managing the DNS service (name server configuration, DNS, etc.). For any technical problems, such as amendments to server names, DNS-LU will contact the technical contact. The technical contact must have a valid email address.

7. BILLING CONTACT. DNS-LU will send invoices to the billing contact who will be contacted for any billing-related issues. Non-payment of the invoice relating to a domain name shall result in the domain name being revoked by DNS-LU. For this reason, information (name, address, etc.) must be kept up to date.

8. USE OF THE DOMAIN NAME. A domain name may be registered as an active domain name (two name servers required) or inactive.

Inactive domain name
This option can be useful if you are planning on internet presence in the coming weeks and you want to secure your online identity. To select this option, check box 8a. Inactive domain names are registered and shall remain so until you have chosen a service provider and are ready to launch your website. The fees for an inactive domain name are the same as those for an active domain name.

8a. ( ) Reservation.

Active domain name
For an active domain name, you need to notify DNS-LU of at least two name servers with the correct configuration for the name in question. If your company does not have any name servers, ask your internet service provider for this service. To register an active domain name, check box 8b.
8b. ( ) Network Connection.

Please note: DNS-LU only activates domain names for which two name servers are operational at the time of registration. Otherwise the domain name automatically assumes inactive status. To check whether your servers are configured correctly, you can use the name server test tool, which provides a test identical to those used by DNS-LU. Only domain names with servers approved by these tests will be activated by DNS-LU.

APPENDIX: pages 3 and 4 of the Registration form. Read it carefully and then sign and date it. To be deemed valid, all registration applications must include the registration form and the appendix.

Enregistrement

Pour enregistrer un nom de domaine sous la racine .lu, vous devez remplir le Formulaire d'enregistrement avec l'avenant et les retourner dûment complétés et signés à DNS-LU par fax ou par courrier postal.

Le formulaire d'enregistrement et l'avenant forment le contrat d'enregistrement. Le cas échéant vous devez y ajouter une Procuration.

Pour plus de détails, veuillez vous reporter à la rubrique ci-après Comment compléter le formulaire d'enregistrement.

Le formulaire d'enregistrement est également à utiliser par le nouveau titulaire en cas de Cession d'un nom de domaine existant à une autre entité.

Avant de remplir le formulaire pour un nouvel enregistrement, vous pouvez Vérifier si le nom que vous voulez enregistrer est toujours disponible et consulter la rubrique Comment compléter le formulaire d'enregistrement afin de remplir correctement le formulaire et d'éviter ainsi des retards lors de l'enregistrement de votre nom.   

Attention: le formulaire d'enregistrement et l'avenant doivent être signés par le contact administratif.

Explications pour remplir le formulaire d'enregistrement

Il est conseillé de lire ce document avant de compléter le formulaire d'enregistrement d'un nom de domaine. Tous les formulaires reçus qui sont incomplets, incorrects ou non accompagnés de l'avenant dûment signé seront rejetés et entraîneront ainsi des délais lors de l'enregistrement de votre nom de domaine.  Pour plus d'informations en ce qui concerne l'enregistrement d'un nom de domaine, veuillez adresser un courrier électronique à domreg@dns.lu.
Remarque : le formulaire d'enregistrement et l'avenant doivent être signés par le contact administratif, c'est-à-dire par un représentant légal du demandeur. 

1. Nom de domaine Seuls les noms composés de 3 caractères au minimum et de 63 caractères au maximum sont acceptés (.lu non inclus).  Un nom de domaine peut être composé exclusivement de chiffres. Seul le tiret (-) est accepté comme caractère spécial. Ce dernier peut seulement être utilisé en combinaison avec deux caractères et ne peut être ni le premier ni le dernier caractère d'un nom de domaine. Le tiret ne peut pas se trouver non plus en troisième et quatrième positions. Les seuls charactères non-ASCII permis pour les noms IDN sont ceux utilisés dans les langues luxembourgeoise, française et allemande. Les noms de domaine ne se composent que de caractères en minuscules. Un seul nom de domaine par formulaire est accepté.  Quelques exemples de noms de domaine corrects : restena.lu, dns.lu, 876.lu, école.lu etc.

2. Objet de la demande DNS-LU utilise le même formulaire pour l'enregistrement d'un nouveau nom de domaine et pour la modification d'un nom de domaine existant.

- Pour enregistrer un nouveau nom de domaine, cochez la case 2a.

2a. ( ) Enregistrer un nouveau nom de domaine 

- Pour modifier un nom de domaine, cochez la case 2b et indiquez l'objet de la modification (raison) (exemple : changement du contact technique)

- 2b. ( ) Modifier un nom de domaine existant

2b1. Raison : la modification d'un nom de domaine peut se faire plus rapidement qu'un nouvel enregistrement, car le nom de domaine est déjà enregistré et validé.

3. Nature du demandeur Selon les conditions générales d'enregistrement d'un nom de domaine sous la racine .lu, les personnes morales tout comme les personnes physiques sont autorisées à enregistrer un nom de domaine.

Prière de cocher la case appropriée :

3a. ( ) Organisation

3b. ( ) Personne privée

4. Nom et adresse (organisations et personnes privées résidant à l'étranger)  Dans le cas d'une organisation : dénomination sociale et adresse complète. Le statut légal de la société doit être fourni (SA, s.à.r.l., …).  Dans le cas d'une personne privée résidant à l'étranger : nom, prénom et adresse complète à l'étranger.

5. Contact administratif Le contact administratif doit obligatoirement être un représentant légal (droit de signature) de l'organisation ou de la personne privée si celle-ci réside à l'étranger (point 4). Le contact administratif peut être identique au contact technique ou au contact de facturation. Le contact administratif est contacté pour toute question administrative ou juridique concernant l'enregistrement d'un nom de domaine. Depuis le 1er février 2010 l'obligation pour le contact administratif d'être établi au Luxembourg a disparu. Dans le cas d'une personne morale, l'adresse du contact administratif doit être identique à l'adresse de l'organisation. Si cette contrainte ne peut être respectée, en raison de la structure de la société, DNS-LU a besoin d'une Procuration. Seul notre formulaire standard est accepté.

Le contact administratif doit obligatoirement disposer d’une adresse électronique valable.

6. Contact technique Le contact technique est la personne responsable de la gestion du service DNS (configuration des serveurs de noms, DNS, etc.). Pour tous les problèmes techniques, tels que la modification des noms de serveurs  DNS-LU s'adressera au contact technique. Le contact technique doit obligatoirement disposer d'une adresse électronique.

7. Contact de facturation DNS-LU adresse les factures au contact de facturation et prend contact avec lui pour tous les problèmes qui y sont liés. Le non-paiement de la facture relative à un nom de domaine entraîne la radiation de ce nom de domaine par DNS-LU et il est pour cette raison indispensable de conserver des données (nom, adresse, etc.) à jour.

8. Utilisation du nom de domaine Un nom de domaine peut être enregistré comme nom de domaine actif (2 serveurs de noms doivent connaître la zone) ou inactif.

Nom de domaine inactif
Cette option peut être utile si vous avez prévu d'avoir une présence sur Internet dans les semaines à venir et d'assurer votre identité sur Internet. Pour choisir cette option, cochez la case 8a. Les noms de domaine inactifs sont enregistrés et le restent jusqu'à ce que vous ayez choisi un fournisseur de services et soyez prêt à lancer votre site Internet. Les coûts d'un nom de domaine inactif sont les mêmes que ceux d'un nom de domaine actif.

8a. ( ) Réservation.

Nom de domaine actif
Pour disposer d'un nom de domaine actif vous devez communiquer à DNS-LU au minimum deux serveurs de noms correctement configurés pour le nom en question. Si vous ne disposez pas de serveurs de noms dans votre entreprise, demandez ce service à votre fournisseur d'accès à Internet. Pour enregistrer un nom de domaine actif, cochez la case 8b.


8b. ( ) Connexion Réseau. 

Important : DNS-LU active seulement des noms de domaine dont les 2 serveurs de noms fonctionnent correctement lors de l'enregistrement ; sinon le nom de domaine passe par défaut en état inactif.  Pour vérifier si vos serveurs sont configurés correctement, vous pouvez utiliser le Programme de test pour noms de serveurs qui propose un test identique à ceux qui sont utilisés par DNS-LU. Seuls les noms dont les serveurs sont validés par ces tests seront activés par  DNS-LU.

Avenant : pages 3 et 4 du Formulaire d'enregistrement Lisez attentivement, datez et signez. Pour être valide, toute demande d'enregistrement doit comporter le formulaire d'enregistrement accompagné de l'avenant.