WHOIS modifications for GDPR

With the coming into force of the GDPR (Regulation 2016/679) on the 25th of May 2018, Fondation RESTENA, operating as the registry of the .lu ccTLD, presents a modification of its WHOIS database lookup service. The proposed solution aims at maintaining the original WHOIS purpose while protecting personal data in accordance with the GDPR and limiting abuses.

Current information (including personal data related to holder and contacts) will still be collected by the registry, without any change on the technical interfaces with its accredited registrars. The data collection, process and transfer operations will be legally covered by a revised version of the Registry-Registrar contract.

WHOIS replies on the command-line interface (RFC 3912) will be limited to basic public information about the domain. The existing web-based WHOIS will reveal holder information for organisations only and will allow to send an email to the administrative or technical contacts without revealing their email address (via a web form).

The web-based WHOIS will allow to request and motivate an access to a more complete data set (either via a web form or by downloading, filling and sending a PDF document). Fondation RESTENA will assess the request legitimacy in accordance with the European and National rulings, notify the domain holder/admin contact and eventually transfer the data.

When appropriate, selected organizations might have an automated access to more complete information only for a limited purpose and under a legal agreement. This particularly envisions national certs with an official authority whose mission requires a broader access.

In a second phase, we will introduce an opt-in for revealing personal data on the web-based WHOIS only.

GDPR - Additional Information

  • DNS-LU makes the document Privacy Notice available to registrants which explains how DNS-LU collects, uses, transmits and discloses (referred to together as “processes”) domain name requestors’ and holders’ personal data under .lu, including administrative, and/or technical and/or billing contacts (“involved persons”), and the means by which this is done. 
  • With the coming into force of the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) on May 25th 2018, DNS-LU has reviewed Terms and Conditions of Service as well as the WHOIS search service which is a simple tool for looking up limited information under certain conditions. The proposed solution aims at maintaining the original WHOIS purpose while protecting personal data in accordance with the GDPR and limiting abuses.

          For further details see section WHOIS of « Quick-Links ».

Modifications du WHOIS pour le RGPD

Dans le cadre de l'entrée en application du RGPD (Règlement 2016/679) le 25 mai 2018, la Fondation RESTENA, opérant comme registre du ccTLD .lu, présente une modification de son service de recherche d’information WHOIS. La solution proposée a pour objectif de maintenir les finalités originelles de ce service tout en protégeant les données personnelles en accord avec le RGPD et en limitant ses utilisations abusives.

Les informations actuelles (y compris les données personnelles des titulaires et contacts) seront toujours collectés par le registre, sans changement des interfaces techniques avec les bureaux d'enregistrement accrédités. Les opérations de collecte, traitement et transfert des données seront légalement couvertes par une révision du contrat Registre-Bureau d'enregistrement.

Les requêtes WHOIS en ligne de commande (RFC 3912) seront limitées aux données essentielles et non-privées concernant le domaine. Le WHOIS web existant donnera accès aux informations concernant les entités morales uniquement et permettra d'envoyer un email aux contacts administratif ou technique sans révéler leur adresse (via un formulaire web).

L'interface web permettra également de motiver une demande d'accès à des données complémentaires (soit via un formulaire web, soit en complétant un document PDF). La Fondation RESTENA évaluera la légitimité de ces demandes en accord avec les législations européenne et nationale, notifiera le titulaire ou le contact administratif et procèdera le cas échéant au transfert des données.

Un nombre restreint d'organisations pourra avoir un accès automatique à un ensemble plus large d'information, mais uniquement pour des finalités limitées selon contrat. Cette disposition concerne particulièrement les CERTs nationaux avec mandat officiel dont l'exécution de leur mission nécessite un accès moins limité.

Dans un second temps, un mécanisme d'"opt-in" sera mis en oeuvre pour le WHOIS web uniquement.

RGPD - Informations supplémentaires

  • DNS-LU met à votre disposition le document Note de Confidentialité qui explique la manière dont DNS-LU collecte, utilise, transmet et diffuse («traite») les données personnelles des requérants et titulaires de noms de domaine sous .lu, y compris, les contacts administratifs, et/ou techniques et/ou de facturation («personnes concernées») ainsi que les moyens mises en œuvre à cet effet.
  • Avec l'entrée en vigueur, le 25 mai 2018 du Règlement Général de la Protection des Données (RGPD), DNS-LU a adapté toutes les Conditions Générales comme le service de recherche WHOIS qui permet d’accéder sous certaines conditions à un nombre restreint de données. La solution technique proposée a pour objectif de maintenir les finalités originelles de ce service tout en protégeant les données personnelles en accord avec le RGPD et en limitant ses utilisations abusives. 

    Pour plus de détails veuillez consulter le menu Recherche WHOIS de la rubrique « Quick-Links ».